The Committee’s founding members include:

John Ciannella, Director of Neonatology at Stamford Hospital, Stamford Connecticut.

Barb Himes, IBCLC, Director of Education and Bereavement Services, First Candle.

Ben Hoffman, Professor of Pediatrics at Doernbecher Children’s Hospital and Oregon Health and Science University and Chair of the American Academy of Pediatrics Council on Injury Violence and Poison Prevention.

Byron Johnson, Vice President, Evoke KYNE

Kyesha Lindberg, Executive Director, Healthy Mothers Healthy Babies Coalition of Georgia.

Avonlea Rickerson, Program Manager, Black Mothers’ Breastfeeding Association.

Andrew Rubenstein, MD, FACOG Academic Chair, Chair, Obstetrics and Gynecology for the Dignity Health Medical Group at Saint Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center (SJHMC) in Phoenix, Arizona.

Dauline Singletary, MPH, CCE (ACBE), CD (DONA) Public Health Educator, Wake County Health, Durham, North Carolina.

Ciannella, Johnson and Rubenstein are First Candle board members.

“Working in Public Health, we all see that the racial and health inequities in Black and brown communities are much higher than that of white communities, Singletary said. “Developing a committee that focuses on the needs and providing the re